Congratulations to RCT graduates in Portsmouth

Congrats to 15 RCT training program graduates at the Portmouth, Ohio, DOE site.

The United Steelworkers Tony Mazzocchi Center (USWTMC) is proud to announce that 15 students have completed and graduated from the Portsmouth Radiological Control Technician (RCT) training program on Aug. 23, 2023.

In March of 2023, the USWTMC started a seven-month long RCT training program at the Portsmouth Department of Energy (DOE) site. During this training, a total of 15 selected students were trained by USWTMC worker-trainers on the academics required to become an RCT at a DOE site. In order to successfully complete the program, students had to pass two exams to demonstrate their proficiency in and understanding of the academic material. All 15 students have successfully passed the exams, and have graduated from the program.

The TMC would like to thank all of the WTs who dedicated themselves to ensuring the students’ success in this program. The trainers devoted a substantial amount of their time, energy and knowledge to this program. The USWTMC would also like to thank USW Local Union 1-689 and the Pike County Career Technology Center for their support. A full list of the WTs for this program may be found below:

  • Joshua Anglemyer
  • Jacqulyn Foster
  • Daniel Gotham
  • Aaron Ray
  • Amy Sparks
  • Jeffrey Strange
  • James Taylor
  • Andria Tipton

Congratulations to all of the students that have graduated. Their hard work and dedication was exhibited in the time and energy that they devoted to this program. The TMC recognizes the graduates’ commitments to health, safety, and the environment through their commitment to this program and now to this field. The TMC wishes all of the students well as they embark on their journeys as RCTs and are proud of their accomplishments. A full list of the graduating students may be found below:

  • Cody Axtell
  • Brent Bates
  • Theresia Dodridge
  • Justin Faulconer
  • Ryan Holbrook
  • Ryan Hopper
  • Jacob Howard
  • Shannon LeMay
  • Frankie Lowder III
  • Seth Overly
  • Aaron Ragland
  • Lee Roberts
  • KayLee Smith
  • Richard Staker
  • Amber Staten

Photo credit: Fiona Galley

Click here for more pictures.